## **News Release**



DPI-NR 2021-32

Education Information Services • 125 South Webster Street • P.O. Box 7841 • Madison, WI 53707-7841 • (608) 266-3559

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Monday, May 17, 21021 Contact: DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559, media.inquiries@dpi.wi.gov

Six Wisconsin educators named finalists for national award

Teachers nominated for success in teaching math, science, and STEM

MADISON — Six Wisconsin educators have been named finalists for the 2021 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor announced the finalists today for the award, considered the highest honor given by the U.S. government for science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers.

"The six Wisconsin teachers named finalists for this honor have sparked a love of learning in their students and have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to their students' academic success," Stanford Taylor said. "I congratulate the finalists on this special achievement, and I applaud them for making a lifelong difference in the lives of their students."

The six teachers were nominated for their pedagogical and content knowledge, and for leadership in their field. Wisconsin finalists for the 2021 PAEMST's are:

- David Ebert, mathematics teacher, Oregon High School (Oregon)
- Julia Henshaw, eighth grade mathematics teacher, J.R. Gerritts Middle School (Kimberly)
- Kevin Kiel, eighth grade science teacher, Wilson Middle School (Manitowoc)
- Kristin Michalski, physics, physical science, and engineering teacher, East Troy High School (East Troy)
- Erin Schroeder, mathematics teacher, Waunakee Community High School (Waunakee)
- Amy Zientek, physics, biology, and ecology teacher, Brookfield Academy (Brookfield)

This award, presented annually since 1983, recognizes K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers from across the nation. States establish committees who select finalists based on criteria required by the national PAEMST program.

Applications from Wisconsin's finalists will be judged at the national level by a committee organized by the National Science Foundation, which administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. One awardee in mathematics and one awardee in science will receive a \$10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and professional development opportunities, along with being honored at an award ceremony in Washington D.C.